Brand: E-flite

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4

READER REVIEWS
Jonathan Lewzey  |  Mar 20, 2009

Strengths:
-ultra stable -available as a BNF package -very good value for money -a great training platform. . . .
Weaknesses:
For what its designed to do, none. . . .
Overall:
My dad got one of these, because he saw someone flying one at the club indoor events and was hooked by its flying performance. I've also had a fly and its a complete non event, which is exactly what a beginner needs. As this model is designed for a beginner it can't be faulted. .

Overall:
5
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
Golf Kilo  |  Jan 07, 2009

Strengths:
Does everthing it claims perfectly. . . .
Weaknesses:
Smaller packaging for the BNF version would be nice. . . .
Overall:
With the heli and charger kept on the bedside cabinet this can be flown without getting out of bed, something unique in my model aircraft fleet. . . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
4
John Sheehy  |  Jan 07, 2009

Strengths:
Flies straight out of the box. The LiPo comes out for charging, means you can have several LiPo's (about £7 today)'. . .
Weaknesses:
connections. The connection between the LiPo and the heli is fiddly, and the connection between the LiPo and the charger can be tricky. Push it in just enough for a good connection and no more, udherwise it can be very difficult to get out. .
Overall:
Overall, it's what I've been searching for since the first Picoo Z came my way. Full control without the difficulty of the single rotor Heli's. I'm sure when synchromesh gearboxes first hit the motoring scene some people felt it wasn't real driving. Why feel contrarotating heads are less valid than the 'old' type just because of improved stability? I know performance Heli's will still be single rotor but a 7" heli is not about performance.

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
shannonflyer  |  Jan 02, 2009

Strengths:
Simple to fly. Great training helicopter for getting used to orientation. Unbelievably lightweight so doesn't damage as easily as expected. Great fun to fly.
Weaknesses:
Battery connection into charger is very fiddly and difficult to remove after charging. No mains charger jack on battery stand. . .
Overall:
Really brilliant out of the box experience with rock solid stability. As it is a co axial helicopter the forward flight is more limited but this is more than made up for in the ease of getting used to flying a helicopter for the first time. If you are at all tempted to try out flying at home this must be at the top of your list. At the price it is hard to beat the value for money of the complete setup.

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
5
Gary Armitage  |  Dec 21, 2008

Strengths:
excellent Giro crash resistance 2. 8 gig rx. . .
Weaknesses:
mine - for owning one!. . . .
Overall:
***** can't fault it. . . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
4
Eric Bray  |  Dec 21, 2008

Strengths:
Genuine fly from the box. Needed two or three beeps of yaw, and two of forward cyclic to get a near-perfect hands-off hover. . .
Weaknesses:
Tiny, fiddly plug from lipo to electronics. Fiddly fit of lipo into battery-powered charger. . .
Overall:
Great fun heli for indoors. The 'ease of assembly' rating is not really relevant, but I cannot submit the review without clicking something!. . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Frank Skilbeck  |  Dec 20, 2008

Strengths:
So stable and predictable, very easy to fly. Works with any DSM2 Tx, I use my DX6i and it was very easy to set up, i. e. just bind it to new clear memory and it's good to go.
Weaknesses:
Maybe a bit to stable, forward flight is not very sprightly. Don't think if you can fly one of these that you will be able to control conventional electric heli as easily. . .
Overall:
Brilliant for round the house, especially if you already have a DSM2 Tx, Spektrum are to be congratulated for bringing out the Bind n Fly range (maybe a Vapor next. . . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Peter 'Ivanna Crashalot' Savage  |  Dec 19, 2008

Strengths:
ease to fly stability - makes it perfect for learning orientations once it teaches you to fly, it becomes an all round messing around model!. . . .
Weaknesses:
fragile upper blade seesaw pivot and blade balls for control links, my dad's one has broken two in 4 days of careful flying so get atleast one complete set of blades and another upper rotor shaft to avoid disappointment on the big day! Screw driver included is kinda useless. . . .
Overall:
It is really nice to fly, i would totally recommend it, however it seems to break the top of the upper rotor shaft quite alot, this can become tiresome, but luckily the spares for it are cheap with a spare set comprising of two blades for either the upper rotor or lower coming out at £1. 50 and the upper rotor shaft coming out at £1. 99. It is also good at forward flight unlike most contra-rotating helicopters which will get into a conical shaped wobble then fall out of the sky Want to get into helis? this is your heli! hey, if my dad can fly it, its gotta be easy! NOTE:Ease of assembly mark relating to repairing ease.

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
X