Brand: Spektrum

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
2
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
3
Value for money:
4

READER REVIEWS
Tim Cope  |  May 14, 2012

Strengths:
battery lasts for ever. . . .
Weaknesses:
should have been lipo from the start Lost a model due to a recall issue. . . .
Overall:
should have let them sort the bugs before buying one of the first ones out. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
3
Value for money:
4
oldSmithy  |  Apr 21, 2012

Strengths:
Nice feel, easy to use and setup plus telemetry options. Good switch selection/options. . .
Weaknesses:
Errors in firmware. A bit like anything programmed by humans these days. Hard coded stuff only failed if the hardware failed. Now its down to hoping the programming guys don't miss anything on final tests of f/ware.
Overall:
A good system with lots of wing setup options and the ability to connect dsm2 bind n fly models as well as dsmx all with the one Tx and no crystals or aerial to forget to extend. Seems all good so far. I trust firmware will get better. I used the telemetry to monitor the RX pack and stirred all the sticks and discovered my RX pack needed upgraded to 6V so that's progress I guess.

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Alan Randall  |  Mar 03, 2012

Strengths:
Well made and nice to hold. As I fly electric I love being able to set the timer on the throttle. . .
Weaknesses:
One near miss with a newly bound model because I forgot to set the timer to the throttle. From my angle it would be better for the timer to default to the throttle rather than another switch. Larger, coloured pictures would have made the change from mode 2 to mode 1 slightly easier. .
Overall:
I have been using the transmitter for indoor and outdoor since December 2010 and it has behaved perfectly with indoor and outdoor models on a variety of recievers including indoor, park fly and outdoor, including the 500 full range. Mine did go back for recall but it was handled quickly and professionaly. I had to change it from mode 1 to mode 2 but this did not take long and was fairly easy. Not tried the telemetry yet so I cannot comment on it.

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
4
Pete Carpenter  |  Feb 23, 2012

Strengths:
Nice feel, comfy to hold, good display, easy to program, telemetry, easy firmware updates. . . .
Weaknesses:
No glider specific programming, manual too basic, too many recalls. . . .
Overall:
Why they didn't add glider programming to the DX8 I'll never know. Otherwise an excellent value radio that more or less does everything I need. . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
4
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Owain  |  Feb 15, 2012

Strengths:
Ease of setup & use. After sales support by distributor. Software updates. .
Weaknesses:
A bug that cost me a model. (now fixed) No other. . .
Overall:
A good all-round system with very intuitive user interface and easy software updates and model backup. I would recommend to any intermediate modeller. . .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
4
Value for money:
4
Paul Marsh  |  Dec 11, 2011

Strengths:
Ergonomic design, SD card storage and ease of use. . . .
Weaknesses:
Looses bind for no reason(not RX problem), also reverses controls. (Flew model, ok, turned back on and all controls had reversed!!!) Was at a show, had I not did a check, would have been in the crowd, nasty! Product recalls. . .
Overall:
A good set, but not built as well as JR. Limited mixing, when using split flaps/elevator/ailerons. . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
3
Value for money:
3
Barry Ensten  |  Nov 27, 2011

Strengths:
Feels nice - user interface good. . . .
Weaknesses:
No glider mode Caused the loss of a model on 3rd flight due to lock out - since covered by a recall. . . .
Overall:
3 recalls in less than one year is unacceptable. It would be a good set if it worked reliably. . .

Overall:
2
Ease of assembly:
3
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
1
Value for money:
2
sietse kooistra  |  Jul 13, 2011

Strengths:
easy program telemetrie. . . .
Weaknesses:
display at bottom. . . .
Overall:
quality. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
0
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
4
adrian lawrence 1  |  Jul 05, 2011

Strengths:
Easy to program, lipo or nimh choice is nice as is the built in charger. . . .
Weaknesses:
The need for separate telemetry module. . . .
Overall:
Reasonable value for money. Telemetry is good for those long flights. Nice feel to the sticks, in my opinion just as good as those on my jr set. .

Overall:
4
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
3
Stuart Mallett  |  May 29, 2011

Strengths:
easy to read easy to program telemetry. . . .
Weaknesses:
annoying alarms Lack of published set up files should come with lipo power not as an after sales addon. . . .
Overall:
Very good worth the money. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
0
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
4
BrianB  |  May 18, 2011

Strengths:
Very easy to programme and built in mixes for some wing types save a lot of `mixing`as it is done for you. Smooth feel to the sticks but may be a bit light for some. good all round radio. .
Weaknesses:
Would not wish to change mode as it seems quite complicated. Pity telemetry needs a separate airborne module as most others seem to incorporate this in the Rx. . .
Overall:
Very good set,had it a few months now and like it very much,does everything the average club flier needs,and more. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
0
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
Capt Kremen  |  Dec 23, 2010

Strengths:
Ergonomic, comfortable in the hand(s), easy, straightforward to programme and operate. . . .
Weaknesses:
Telemetry - Why whilst flying(?) In almost all flying situations the pilot should have the focus of his/her attention on the aircraft and its relation to the sky, ground, people, property and other operating aircraft. To take ones eyes off the flying 'ball' albeit for a split second to view lines of data is not conducive to flight safety. Sure log the engine temperature, battery voltage, current motor rpm for study AFTER landing. An audible variometer and timer functions perhaps being the only valid functions which do not distract visual continuity with the model.
Overall:
Reasonably made. Does the job and offers sports fliers sufficient flexibility to operate most model types and their requirements. Useful interface with PC to allow upgrades to software and model memory safe keeping. Flexible internal battery i.

Overall:
2
Ease of assembly:
0
Build quality:
3
Flight performance:
3
Value for money:
3
simon burch  |  Dec 21, 2010

Strengths:
The gyro and governor built in programming is superb. . . .
Weaknesses:
Not found any yet. . . .
Overall:
Really nice to hold and much better balanced than my DSX9, and lighter !!!. . . .

Overall:
3
Ease of assembly:
0
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
Maurice Harvey  |  Dec 18, 2010

Strengths:
Ease of programming. . . .
Weaknesses:
The dx8 receiver. Buy the transmitter without the rx then purchase a dx9. The dx8 rx is no more than a park flyer. With 8 channels one would expect a dedicated battery port using heavy cables.
Overall:
Good looks, nice to handle. . . .

Overall:
2
Ease of assembly:
0
Build quality:
4
Flight performance:
0
Value for money:
5
Chris Bott - Moderator  |  Oct 13, 2010

Strengths:
Smooth Gimbals, comfortable hand holds. So easy to find your way around the software. Very simple flap mixing, as long as you choose ther right wing type. NimH and LiPo support.
Weaknesses:
No obvious glider modes although there are plenty of wing types. Inbuilt charger seemed a good idea, except it is a slow charger. . .
Overall:
. . . .

Overall:
5
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
ntsmith  |  Oct 12, 2010

Strengths:
General feel, easy to set up, timer start by throttle stick, backlit screen - I could go on . . . .
Weaknesses:
You have to use a mix to get things like flap elevator mixing; something my old DX9 - sold it to get one of these - could do without using a mix but then again how many are ever needed?. . . .
Overall:
As said, an improvement over my DX9 and a step forward in technology. . . .

Overall:
5
Ease of assembly:
5
Build quality:
5
Flight performance:
5
Value for money:
5
X
Login using Modelflying Login